About Abim District

Watch videos
Title Abim District
(from Freebase)
Abim District is a district in Northern Uganda. It's named after its 'chief town', Abim, where the district headquarters are located. Abim District is bordered by Kotido District to the north and east, Napak District to the southeast and south, Otuke District to the southwest and Agago District to the west. The district headquarters at Abim, are located approximately 140 kilometres (87 mi), by road, northwest of Moroto, the largest town in the sub-region. The coordinates of the district are:02 44N, 33 40E. Abim District became functional on 1 July 2006. Prior to that, it was known as Labwor County in Kotido District. The district is composed of five (5) sub-counties and one town council, Abim Town Council. Abim District covers an area of 2,337 square kilometres (902 sq mi). The district is part of the Karamoja sub-region, home to an estimated one million Karimojong. The sub-region consists of the following districts: Abim District has got a wet and dry woodland savannah type of...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics