About Borena zone

Watch videos
Title Borena zone
(from Freebase)
Borena (or Borana) is one of the 12 zones of the Oromia Region of Ethiopia. Borena is named after a tribe of the Oromo people. Borena is bordered on the south by Kenya, on the west by the Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples Region, on the north by the Ganale Dorya River which separates it from Bale and on the east by the Somali Region. The highest point in this zone is Mount Dara Tiniro. Cities and major towns in this Zone include Moyale, Negele Boran, and Yabelo. The Borena Zone was created shortly after the adoption of the new constitution in 1995 and the creation of the Oromia Region. In September 2002, the upland woredas were separated from Borena to create the Guji Zone. Since then, many of the remaining woredas have been reorganized to create new ones. This Zone was selected by the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development in 2004 as one of several areas for voluntary resettlement for farmers from overpopulated areas; no specific woredas were identified in this...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics