About Ganges

Watch videos
Title Ganges
(from Freebase)
The Ganges (English pronunciation: /ˈɡændʒiːz/; Hindi: गंगा Ganga IPA: [ˈɡəŋɡaː]  ( listen); Bengali: গঙ্গা Gônga), is one of the major rivers of the Indian subcontinent, flowing east through the Gangetic Plain of northern India into Bangladesh. The 2,510 km (1,560 mi) river rises in the western Himalayas in the Uttarakhand state of India, and drains into the Sunderbans delta in the Bay of Bengal. It has long been considered a holy river by Hindus and worshiped as the goddess Ganga in Hinduism. It has also been important historically: many former provincial or imperial capitals (such as Patliputra, Kannauj, Kara, Allahabad, Murshidabad, and Calcutta) have been located on its banks. The Ganges Basin drains 1,000,000-square-kilometre (390,000 sq mi) and supports one of the world's highest density of humans. The average depth of the river is 52 feet (16 m), and the maximum depth, 100 feet (30 m). The river has been declared as India's National River. The many symbolic meanings of the...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics