About Horn of Africa

Watch videos
Title Horn of Africa
(from Freebase)
The Horn of Africa (Somali: Geeska Afrika, Ge'ez: የአፍሪካ ቀንድ, Arabic: القرن الأفريقي‎) (alternatively Northeast Africa, and sometimes Somali Peninsula; shortened to HOA) is a peninsula in East Africa that juts hundreds of kilometers into the Arabian Sea and lies along the southern side of the Gulf of Aden. It is the easternmost projection of the African continent. Referred to in medieval times as Bilad al Barbar ("Land of the Berbers"), the Horn of Africa denotes the region containing the countries of Eritrea, Djibouti, Ethiopia and Somalia. It covers approximately 2,000,000 km² (772,200 sq mi) and is inhabited by about roughly 100 million people (Ethiopia: 85 million, Somalia: 9.3 million, Eritrea: 5.2 million, and Djibouti: 0.86 million). Regional studies on the Horn of Africa are carried out, among others, in the fields of Ethiopian Studies as well as Somali Studies. The Horn of Africa is almost equidistant from the equator and the Tropic of Cancer. It consists chiefly of mountains...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics