About Kyrgyzstan

Watch videos
Title Kyrgyzstan
(from Freebase)
Kyrgyzstan ( /ˈkɜrɡɪstɑːn/ KUR-gi-stahn, /kɜrɡɪˈstɑːn/, or /ˈkɪərɡɪstɑːn/; Kyrgyz: Кыргызстан [qɯrʁɯzstɑ́n]; Russian: Кыргызстан [kᵻrɡᵻsˈtan]), officially the Kyrgyz Republic is one of the world's six independent Turkic states (along with Turkey, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan). Located in Central Asia, landlocked and mountainous, Kyrgyzstan is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the southwest and People's Republic of China to the east. Its capital and largest city is Bishkek. "Kyrgyz" is believed to have been derived from the Turkic word for "forty", in reference to the forty clans of Manas, a legendary hero who united forty regional clans against the Uyghers. At the time, in the early 9th century AD, the Uyghers dominated much of Central Asia (including Kyrgyzstan), Mongolia, and parts of Russia and China. By extension, Kyrgyz is also thought to mean "unconquerable" or "undefeatable". The 40-ray sun on the flag of...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics