About Manila

Watch videos
Title Manila
(from Freebase)
Manila (Tagalog: Maynila; pronounced /majˈnilaʔ/ in Tagalog; pronounced /məˈnɪlə/ (mə-NIL-ə) in English) is the capital of the Philippines. It is one of the sixteen cities comprising Metro Manila. Manila is located on the eastern shores of Manila Bay and is bordered by Navotas and Caloocan to the north, Quezon City to the northeast, San Juan and Mandaluyong to the east, Makati on the southeast, and Pasay to the south. Manila has a total population of more than 1,660,714 according to the 2007 census. Manila is the second most populous city in the Philippines behind Quezon City. The populace inhabit an area of only 38.55 square kilometers, making Manila the most densely populated city in the world. However, Metro Manila is the most populous metropolitan area in the Philippines and the 11th in the world with an estimated population of 16,300,000. The greater urban area is the fifth-largest in the world with an estimated population of 20,654,307 people. The city is divided into six...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics