About Oaxaca

Watch videos
Title Oaxaca
(from Freebase)
Oaxaca (Spanish pronunciation: [oaˈxaka]  ( listen); English pronunciation: /wəˈhɑːkə/ wə-HAH-kə), officially Estado Libre y Soberano de Oaxaca (English: Free and Sovereign State of Oaxaca) is one of the 31 states which with the Federal District comprise the 32 federative entities of Mexico. Located in the southern part of the country, bordering the states of Guerrero to the west, Puebla to the northwest, Veracruz to the north, Chiapas to the east, and the Pacific Ocean in the south. With an area of 93,967 km (36,281 sq mi), Oaxaca is the fifth largest state in the republic. According to the 2005 census it had a population of 3,506,821 inhabitants. The state is named for its capital and largest city. The state is best known for its indigenous peoples and cultures. The most numerous and best known are the Zapotecs and the Mixtecs, but there are sixteen that are officially recognized. These cultures have survived better to the present than most others in Mexico due to the state’s rugged...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics