About Palestinian territories

Watch videos
Title Palestinian territories
(from Freebase)
The Palestinian territories comprise the West Bank and the Gaza Strip—territories that were occupied, respectively, by Jordan and Egypt from the 1948 Arab–Israeli War until the 1967 Six Day War and are currently occupied by Israel according to the international community. The Palestinian National Authority regard East Jerusalem as part of the West Bank, and consequently a part of the Palestinian territories, while Israel regards it as part of Israel as a result of its annexation in 1980. 'Palestinian territories' is one of a number of designations for these areas (the UN and international legal bodies often refer to them as the Occupied Palestinian Territories). The territories were part of the territory west of the Jordan River of Mandate Palestine, formed in 1922. In March 1946, the territory east of the Jordan River, which had been ruled as a separate province of Mandate Palestine, became the independent kingdom of Transjordan, though general international recognition took a bit...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics