About Peninsular Malaysia

Watch videos
Title Peninsular Malaysia
(from Freebase)
Peninsular Malaysia (Malay: Semenanjung Malaysia), also known as West Malaysia (formerly Malaya), is the part of Malaysia which lies on the Malay Peninsula, and shares a land border with Thailand in the north. To the south is the island of Singapore. Its area is 50,810 square miles (131,598 square kilometers). It accounts for the majority of Malaysia's population and economy. Across the Strait of Malacca to the west lies the island of Sumatra. East Malaysia (on the island of Borneo) is to the east across the South China Sea. Peninsular Malaysia has an estimated population of 21 million, roughly 80% of the total population in Malaysia. It consists of the following 11 states and two federal territories (starting from the North going to the South): The name 'Malaya' is derived from the name of a river of a similar name found in Sumatra. It is now widely believed by the Malay world that such origins are the sole truth for the basis of the name. The name 'Malaysia' was vaguely used in the...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics