About Port Elizabeth

Watch videos
Title Port Elizabeth
(from Freebase)
Port Elizabeth (Xhosa: Ebhayi; colloquial Afrikaans: 'Die Baai') is one of the largest cities in South Africa, situated in the Eastern Cape Province, 770 km east of Cape Town. The city, often shortened to PE and nicknamed "The Friendly City" or "The Windy City", stretches for 16 km along Algoa Bay, and is one of the major seaports in South Africa. It is also referred to as Africa's Watersport Capital. Port Elizabeth was founded as a town in 1820 to house British settlers as a way of strengthening the border region between the Cape Colony and the Xhosa. It now forms part of the Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality which has a population of over 1.3 million. The city is in a friendship partnership with the Swedish city of Gothenburg and is a sister city to the American cities of Jacksonville, Florida and Palm Desert, California. The area around what is now called Algoa Bay was first settled by hunting and gathering people ancestral to the San at least 100,000 years ago. A little...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics