About Sierra Leone

Watch videos
Title Sierra Leone
(from Freebase)
Sierra Leone ( /siːˈɛrə liːˈoʊn/) (Krio: Sa Lone), officially the Republic of Sierra Leone, is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Guinea in the north, Liberia in the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean in the southwest. Sierra Leone covers a total area of 71,740 km (27,699 sq mi) and has a population estimated at 5.2 million. The country is a constitutional republic comprising three provinces and the Western Area, which are further divided into fourteen districts. The country has a tropical climate, with a diverse environment ranging from savannah to rainforests. Freetown is the capital, largest city and economic center. The other major cities are Bo, Kenema, Koidu Town and Makeni. English is the official language, spoken at schools, government administration and by the media. However, the Krio language (a language derived from English and several African languages and native to the Sierra Leone Krio people) is the most widely spoken language in virtually all parts of the...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics