About South East Sulawesi

Watch videos
Title South East Sulawesi
(from Freebase)
South East Sulawesi (Indonesian: Sulawesi Tenggara) is a province of Indonesia on the island of Sulawesi. The capital of the province is Kendari, on the east coast of the peninsula. The province is one of the most remote regions of Sulawesi; no highway connects it to the cities on the rest of the island, so the primary transportation link is a ferry across the Bone Sea between Watampone (Bone) in South Sulawesi and the port of Kolaka. The population of the province is 1,771,951 (As of 2000 census), most of which is centred on Buton island off the south coast of Sulawesi, and in and around Kendari. From the seventeenth century until the early twentieth century, the region was the site of the Buton sultanate (Butung). The main ethnic groups in South East Sulawesi are "Tolaki", "Buton", "Muna" etc. South East Sulawesi is divided into two cities and several regencies (seat): And cities:
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics