About Tianjin

Watch videos
Title Tianjin
(from Freebase)
Tianjin (help·info) (Chinese: 天津; pinyin: Tiānjīn; Wade-Giles: T'ien-chin; [tʰi̯ɛn˥˥ t͡ɕin˥˥]; Postal map spelling: Tientsin) is a metropolis in Northeastern China. It is governed as a direct-controlled municipality, one of four such designations, and is thus under direct administration of the central government, and borders Hebei Province and Beijing Municipality, bounded to the east by the Bohai Gulf portion of the Yellow Sea. In terms of urban population, it is the sixth largest city of the People's Republic of China, and its urban land area ranks 5th in the nation, only after Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, and Shenzhen. Tianjin's urban area is located along the Hai He River, which connects to the Yellow and Yangtze Rivers via the Grand Canal in Tianjin. Its ports, some distance away, are located on the Bohai Gulf in the Pacific Ocean. Tianjin was once home to foreign concessions in the late Qing Dynasty and early Kuomintang (KMT) era. The municipality incorporates the coastal...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics