About Uganda

Watch videos
Title Uganda
(from Freebase)
The Republic of Uganda (pronounced /juːˈɡændə/ yoo-GAN-də or /juːˈɡɑːndə/ yoo-GAHN-də) is a landlocked country in East Africa. It is bordered on the east by Kenya, on the north by Sudan, on the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, on the southwest by Rwanda, and on the south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, which is also bordered by Kenya and Tanzania. Uganda takes its name from the Buganda kingdom, which encompassed a portion of the south of the country including the capital Kampala. Fifty-one percent of the population of the country lives slightly below the international poverty line of US $1.25 a day. The people of Uganda were hunter-gatherers until 1,700 to 2,300 years ago. Bantu-speaking populations, who were probably from central and western Africa, migrated to the southern parts of the country. These groups brought and developed ironworking skills and new ideas of social and political organization. The...
Linked Data
Related Videos
Related Topics